EMAIL US NOW!

El Castillo De Esparza  El Castillo De Esparza - Costa Rica

Customer Reviews

Costa Rica Luxury Resort Rental Reviews

5/5 Robert K – Stayed Dec 2019

Uniquely beautiful tropical hillside location. Amazing pacific views, spectacular sunsets, attentive friendly staff and great food. Thanks so much!

5/5 Stephanie K – Stayed Apr 2018

El Castillo de Esparza was a dream come true vacation!!!

It was a once in a lifetime vacation where we didn’t have to worry about one thing for the entire week! Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner were prepared and served to us everyday for the entire week. We had a Full-time Bartender throughout the day that would prepare whatever type of drink we asked for and would make any type of kids drinks when asked :)! The staff cleaned all bedrooms and bathrooms daily and had same day laundry service when needed!

It was super easy to set up tours throughout Costa Rica! Transportation was arranged for us, a staff member came with to help when needing anytime of translating through Costa Rica. A few tours we did were Zip Lining in the Rainforest, Monkey Beach, and Crocodile Tours. All we would recommend and do again!

This is the perfect spot for any type of family vacation where you can truly enjoy and relax without having to worry about anything.

Our kids had so much fun and were always entertained :)! The staff was amazing, very attentive and super nice! You could tell they truly wanted you to have an amazing vacation. The food was incredible, the Chef was amazing and was able to prepare meals for both kids and adults. Made the kids special desserts every night!

We also brought extended family and the castle was so big that each person had there own space and could easily mingle or relax. I give this place 5 stars and hope to come back every year!

My daughter and I had an amazing stay at Esparza – Stayed Apr 2018

5/5 Regina M.

I travelled to Castillo de Esparza with my 12 year old daughter and promised her a fairy tale vacation in a Castle. The staff and experience at the Castle was five star and made us both feel like Princesses!

All of our meals were made to order and the staff helped my daughter collect mangos from the beautifully landscaped property. On the last night of our stay, the chef made a custom cake with a horse design for my daughters upcoming birthday. The cake rivaled anything I could have bought for her in Manhattan.

We spend gorgeous sunny days swimming in the pool and she spend hours on the massive waterslide. We took trips to go ziplining and to see the crocodiles. One day we went horseback riding on a nearby black sand beach; the ride included a path through a mangrove jungle. It was amazing! All of the tours were recommended by the staff; who had personally experienced each of the adventures. I felt completely safe entrusting myself and my daughter to these adventures knowing the Castle staff had vetted their quality.One of our favorite activities was visiting a nearby jungle area where you could feed monkeys, with fruit prepared by the Castle staff, and walk along the awesome beach.

At night we watched movies from the extensive in-house selection and played pool and billboards in the beuatiful living room.We’ve been to many Caribbean destinations and Costa Rica and Castillo de Esparza rivaled them all. It’s Paradise.

5/5 Great Family Vacation –Stayed Mar 2018 Edward H.

The house was great we had 16 family members and had room to spare. Ana was excellent, she made sure we got everything we wanted and had the bus ready for everywhere we wanted to travel and see. Josue went with us on all of our site seeing and was a great tour guide and translator. I would definitely visit again.

5/5 Dream come true- Stayed Feb 2018    Cheryl K

We wanted to escape the cold winter in Minnesota and The Castle. Our group was 4 adults and 4 kids. The kids had so much to do all day Large pool areas, waterslide, games, Bocce, Croquet, Tennis, Basketball and all the great food Minor prepared. Having Housekeeping come in twice a day and turn down service was very nice, But having a Laundress everyday doing your laundry  “that is a treat”  coming back into your room after a day at the pool and finding all your clothes washed and neatly folded. We can’t say enough about Ana the Manager coordinating our activities whether at the Castle or going out to the Beach. Minor we would like to thank you for cooking for the kids and then attending to us for 3 meals, Snacks. Josque thank you  for all the exotic drinks and being our tour guide. I will be coming back next year.

5/5 Exceptional in Every Detail- Truely an Escape – Stayed Mar 2018    Susan & Bill H.

We were completely impressed by El Castillo and its staff. Well worth the trip to CR and to Esparza (easy drive or they can provide pick up/return service). It was indeed a luxurious Castel in the hills. The food was varied and prepared perfectly by the chef, served with style by the friendly staff. All amenities were as advertised and made our stay an escape from the day to day. One night we arranged a fireworks display (staff coordinated), several nights we had local musicians play during cocktails. The putting greens and elevations was so unique. Tennis and/or pickle ball was a blast on the tennis court. We can’t say enough other than we will be back next year- we deserve it!

A real vacation! Would highly recommend! 5/5 Stayed Feb 2018

Virginia M.

A very relaxing vacation. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by the amazing staff handing out cold drinks you know you’re in a special place. There’s no stress and everything is right there…dining, tennis, pool, games of all kinds, great movies, a wonderful masseuse and lovely areas to read and unwind. Went with friends and we all loved it and look forward to returning sometime soon.

The Hidden Gem of Central America  5/5 Stayed Mar 2017

Suzanne M.

I have spent several months traveling in Costa Rica and the neighboring Countries of Central America. To say that ‘El Castillo De Esparza’ is THE most grandest place that I have had the privilege to experience would be an understatement. Surrounded by such all-around beauty, inside and out, to dine on fresh local fare prepared deliciously by the Chef was just another treat. The massage overlooking The Gulf of Nicoya was extremely relaxing and I am a Pickleball addict and they even had a court and paddles!

The Staff was very personable and professional and no doubt could provide anything needed to make your stay something special.

Having spent so much time in Costa Rica, I have visited most of the tourist destinations such as: Tabacon Hots Springs, Extreme Zip-line, volcanoes, Butterfly farms, Jungle tours and every Beach from Panama to El Salvador so I was happy to just spend time right there at El Castille. For me, there was plenty to keep me occupied and I had no desire to leave the property!

It really was an easy destination to get to and I think it will be a great place for me to enjoy a girls getaway next time. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it.

Suzy

It is only through the hard work of our talented staff that we are able to provide the quality and consistency to produce the responses we regularly receive from our guest form all over the world. We want to acknowledge and thank them for their continuing efforts.

“AMAZING” Abby…April 2013

We went to stay at the castle with a group of 10 people. We had such an amazing stay. We stayed for over a week. From the moment we landed at the airport we felt very accommodated by the castle and staff. There were so many activities at the castle. We would wake up and play tennis then use the pool to swim or start up a game of water volleyball with friends. There was also a separate pool near by which had a really fun water slide for any age. The castle also had a chipping green, giant chess game, and a hot tub. It was beautiful to sit and relax as well as swim up to the bar to be waited on by such wonderful, respectful, and helpful staff. They are there to ensure you have a great stay! The food was superb. Presentation and taste was impeccable. Every meal was fresh and enjoyable. The staff was very flexible with time and place with meals inside the castle. The staff recommended taking a trip the beach, zip line in the forest, and a crocodile tour. All were excellent recommendations and would recommend anyone else to do the same things. However, there are more activities outside the castle in which you can do! Overall, I am definitely coming back to the castle. Not only is there so many activities and the staff was wonderful, our stay had great value for our money spent. Well worth every cent!

 


 

“More than “The Most Relaxing 4 Days You Will Ever Have”” DanS March 2013

First let me share with you that the best way to book this wonderful property is directly with the owners as we did. This privately owned estate is managed flawlessly by Mr. Henry “Hank” Denzler; who made sure from our first inquiry that our visit would be exceptional. I am confident that we got a lot of additional value from going direct to “Hank” rather than booking through a property broker-listing agent.

We arrived at San Jose Int’l a little after noontime and emerged from customs to be greeted by Hank who had us loaded into the Castillo vans and on our way. It should be noted that Hank will arrange the commute by helicopter to the estate’s helipad if you prefer.

We drove up the winding road to the front gate which opened to reveal El Castillo de Esparza which as you can see from the photographs is magnificent and really more impressive in person. Anna, the head of staff, opened the front door leading into the grand foyer where the entire staff of 10 were assembled to greet and welcome us with tall glasses of rum punch. Not a bad start to what was going to be a great 5 day retreat for 7 guys looking to escape and recharge.

Our group hails from across the USA and Europe. We are blessed with wives who encourage what we like to refer to as “The Global Economic Conference” – a considerably more exclusive confab than Davos or G20. The El Castillo de Esparza is easy for all of to reach with direct connections into San Jose from many hubs in the states.

After settling into our rooms – with 10 bedroom/suites spread through the main house and guest cottages, there is plenty of choice; we convened cocktail hour at the swim-up bar. The bartender and head waiter, Joshua, is quick to learn your preferences and invisibly attendant to your needs. Relaxing at the pool we began solving the global economic conundrum in earnest – the conference had begun!

At around 5PM we showered up and headed to the game room located on the open mezzanine in the main house to shoot a game of pool and enjoy Chef Minor’s hors d’oeuvre offering. Dinner is served on the main outdoor portico deck looking out across the bay toward the bright orange setting sun.

The food served at El Castillo de Esparza is all delicious owing to both Chef Minor’s knowledge of local sources of fresh everything! And his skills in the state-of-the-art kitchen which he is happy to show off, if asked; make every meal a culinary joy. In the course of our visit we enjoyed numerous seafood dinners, local beef, incredible salads, grilled veggies, chilled soups and amazing desserts. Breakfast menu starts with fresh local fruit, strong Costa Rican coffee followed by whatever you ask the kitchen to prepare. Lunch is served in the comfortable poolside “restaurant” which is big enough to invite your 30 best friends over to. So, suffice to say we all have nothing but great things to say about Chef Minor and his varied menu offerings – all delicious. That said, having a top to bottom friendly staff who work hard, have a great attitude and really enjoy extending the hospitality of the house to visitors is a huge plus!

Costa Rica is full of great opportunities for excursions to see jungles, alligators, big surf, zip lines, volcanos, deep-sea fishing, monkey tours and Cuban cigars. Here is where Hank can be of immeasurable assistance. When we booked our visit he inquired as to what off-property activities we would be interested in booking. We had a couple of ideas but he had a wealth of additional suggestions from which we selected a day of fishing and visit to the volcano. All of our side trips went off flawlessly and were huge successes.

I am writing this review on behalf of the entire “Conference”. We had a great time; came back relaxed and are looking forward to returning to El Castillo de Esparza. Also thinking about booking a big family reunion because I know all the in-laws and their brood will love it – tennis, on-property chip and putt, basketball court and the most exhilarating water slide I have ever been down. Great location, great staff, incredible property, daily perfect weather and gourmet food. Enough said. Did I mention messages and piano recital by a member of the national academy? OK enough.


 

“Amazing Getaway” Bill Tasha January 2013

El Castillo is amazing. From the minute we arrived, we were greeted with champagne and fabulous hor d’ouvres. The staff was attentive and helped us plan an amazing week. We went zip lining, croc tours and beach and saw crazy wildlife – the monkeys were the highlight.

The resort has a private pool and hot tub which is great if you just want to spend the day relaxing. We were even presented with lunch in the pool side patio. After lunch, we needed some exercise so we would venture to the waterslide.

There was never a lack of activities. One of our favorite parts of the day was having cocktails on the veranda as the sunset overlooking the ocean.

Can’t wait to come back!!


 

“An Oasis for Family and Friends” PearlTrav March 2013

We needed a place for 4 families to get away for a week for fun and adventure. The castle worked perfectly for this purpose. The environment is such that the children could run around and play without concern, leaving the adults to enjoy the golf greens, tennis, and poolside cocktails. Also the buildings and property is absolutely gorgeous. An amazing paradise in an amazing place.

The location is great for day excursions to both the beach and rain forest. Allowing us activities such as deep sea fishing, and hiking and ATVing in the jungle.

The perfect location to relax as well as see the sights of Costa Rica.


 

“Private Paradise” DonaldM March 2013

If you’re looking for a private getaway with a large group of family/friends, you should seriously consider the Castillo de Esparza in Costa Rica. This is a small private estate with great staff, service and amenities that rival the best hotels. The best part is you have complete access to the estate for up to 20 guests with a full staff and you make your own schedule – when to have breakfast, lunch, cocktails and hor d’ouvres, dinner, where to go outside the Castillo, or just stay poolside; have a massage, play tennis, use the water slide, jacuzzi…you decide. I’ve visited the Castillo many times over the years and i always look forward to returning. Enjoy!


 

“Beautiful Grounds, Amazing Staff, Phenomenal Food” ChrisBore May 2013

Our visit to El Castillo was an unforgettable experience from the moment we stepped foot off the plane. What makes El Castillo special is not only the ornate and meticulously decorated spaces, but the staff who works there. During our entire trip of seven days, the staff would drop everything and make accommodations to take us on our choice of excursions, even at the last minute. Everyone truly goes the extra mile to make your stay unforgettable. The drinks, the incredible food, the music, the company…they truly exceeded any expectations we had prior to our trip. The key is that the staff is detail-oriented. From the moment you awake, your curtains are drawn and fresh sheets are on the bed. Every morning a gorgeous breakfast would be waiting for us on the beautiful terrace overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Throughout the day, they oblige at any moment to make you a snack (we highly recommend the guacamole) or an alcoholic beverage. The dinners prepared by Chef Minor were absolutely phenomenal, consisting of three courses. We highly recommend Minor’s famous azteca Soup, as it was unforgettable. As night falls, the bed is subsequently turned down and the curtains drawn. Day after day, no detail was looked over.

Not only are there several activities to keep you busy outside the castle (eg. Crocodile River Tours, exploring the Monkey Beach, Volcano view, etc.), but there are so many activities to do at the property. We could have spent all day playing volleyball in the pool, challenging each other to tennis tournaments, playing cards on the veranda, learning to play pool with a gorgeous view of the terrace framing the experience, or selecting a movie from hundreds of choices available in the home theater room.

El Castillo de Esparza is a true gem in the heart of Costa Rican activity. We will never forget the experience or the friends that we made on our celebratory adventure.


 

Comments from our Guests:
“…This visit was a great success and the fact that he stayed at El Castillo was the key for making the client feel very comfortable. Thank you for all the efforts done by everyone, even due to the last minute call for the reservation.”

1/22/2013
“…When I sent out an email to the children/grandchildren about who is coming and when, I got 100% participation and all for the entire stay! Quite a testament to the great time we had on our first visit. We looked at a number of other places for this “once in a life time” (well maybe twice) vacation and nothing can come close.”

 

1/22/2013
“…I should say thank you to you and the staff for making this the best family vacation we’ve had. Your attention to detail made all the difference.”

1/5/2012
“…Thank you again for a wonderful week!!! Our time there was a most enjoyable and memorable experience. Please extend our most sincere heartfelt thanks to all. Again, the beauty of the property was only exceeded by the charm and attentiveness of the entire staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Merry Christmas & Many Thanks to all.”

12/24/2011
“…We hope you are all doing well there in wonderful Costa Rica. We missed your wonderful locale once we came home to all of the cold and snow! Please give our hellos to everyone. We had a wonderful time while we were there, and all of you made it a fantastic experience.”

2/13/2011
“…We have not stopped talking about our vacation to El Castillo since we visited almost 2 years ago, dreaming to come back one day. This brought us to the decision to have it at its full this year again. We are thrilled to be coming back finally!”

1/21/2011
“…The staff was excellent – an incredible job in selecting and training. They were so attentive to our needs and were not put off by my mother-in-law’s less than happy demeanor. My only complaint is that we had too much food! We truly could have managed with half the portions served, but we loved Minor’s creativity and everything looked so delicious that we couldn’t help but try and eat it all. Josue was terrific and I think the kids miss him most of all – he was so pleasant and on top of all our requests for pina coladas and daiquiris…nothing was too much for him, although he wisely deferred to you on the Caesars! The home was immaculately kept, thanks to Paola and Magalli – they had such terrific smiles and were so helpful. And of course you, Henry, leading the pack by example – nothing too small or too big a request.”

1/5/2011
“…A quick note to thank you very much for last week. We had a wonderful time and we love El Castillo. As ever